The State of Florida welcome residents, non-residents, out of state and tourists to get married in Florida. We recommend foreigners you check with your consulate for possible additional requirements.
Marriage License Requirements for the State of Florida
1. Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license
2. Each must present one of the following forms of identification:
Driver's license issued in the United States;
U.S. Federal or state identification card; or
Passport showing your name and date of birth (birth certificates or green cards are not accepted).
3. If one or both person was married before, the manner in which the last marriage ended and the exact date the marriage ended are needed. Copies of the death certificate, final decree of divorce, annulment or blood test are not required.
4. You do not have to be a resident of Florida to apply.
5. Both parties must read the Family Law Handbook prior to obtaining a marriage license.
6. For Minor 16 to 17 years old -please check with the courthouse for requirements.
7. Waiting Period & Discounted License -Florida Residents - The mandatory three-day waiting period (may be waived if the couple attends a premarital course (minimum of 4 hours) from a registered provider) check with the courthouse. Non-Residents there is no waiting period.
8. The fee is $93.50 –payable in cash, money order, Visa or Master Card. (Personal Checks are not accepted).
9. The license is valid for 60 days. For Florida residents the last day to apply is 3 days prior to the ceremony.
10. Make sure that all information is accurate before leaving the courthouse.
Courthouses are closed weekends and holidays. Check the courthouse hours of operation before scheduling your visit.
A legal disclaimer will be read in front of all guests if a valid marriage license is not presented
South Florida Courthouses – links
- Palm Beach County - http://www.mypalmbeachclerk.com/marriagelicenses.aspx
- Miami- Dade County - https://www2.miami-dadeclerk.com/mlsweb/
- Broward County - http://www.clerk-17th-flcourts.org/Clerkwebsite/Marriage/Default.aspx
Orlando near Disney : https://www.osceolaclerk.com/Home/Content/marriage
Return of the Marriage License after the wedding.
1. According to the law it is the Wedding Ceremony Officiator responsibility to return the marriage license back to the courthouse for recordal. Weddings by Cecilia returns the marriage license via certified mail and the courthouse may take from 2-6 weeks to return to the address the couple left at the time of application.
2. One Spouse or the couple returns the marriage license back to the courthouse within 10 days after the ceremony for recordal. The couple will need to sign a Term of Responsibility prior to officiant handling the license back to the couple.
3 Attention - Do not apply for the license in Broward County if you intend to return the marriage license yourself. They only mail back to the address the couple left with them within 4-6 weeks.
Non-Florida Residents – Application by Mail
License to Wed, LLC License to Marry A Wedding For You, Inc.If you were married to each other before the ceremony – we are required to have a copy of your marriage certificate at the time of the booking.